Search results

Manage Categories

The reports and files are organized using categories in the Report Server. Categories are accessible by users depends upon users’s permission.

This section explains how to create, open, update, delete, and manage categories in the Syncfusion Report Server.

Context menu options are available to manage the categories as shown in the following image. Category setting options

Open category

To open the already created category, click any category in the left panel to view the reports grouped with it. Open already created categories

Create category

To add a new category, you should have Create All Categories permission.

  1. Click Create in the menu and select Category to create a category. Create category option from Create drop down
  2. Provide a name and description (optional) for the category and click Add. Add a new category for reports

    Read, Write, Delete permission for that Specific Category is provided to the user who created the category.

Update category

To update the category name and description of the already created category, follow these steps:

  1. Click the settings option available in the category.
  2. Select Update from the context menu.
  3. Modify the name or description and click Update. Update category name and description

Share category

You can set permissions to the categories to share with other users in the Report Server.

Steps to share a category

  1. Click Actions in the category list context menu and select Manage Permissions. Select Manage Permissions option

  2. In the Manage Permissions dialog, select the permission access from the Select Access drop-down and select the users or groups to share the category. select the users or groups to share the category

  3. After selecting the access, users, and groups, click Add Permission. Add category permission to share

    Only the user who created the category can share it with other users.

Remove permission

The user who created the category can remove the shared category permissions by following these steps:

  1. In the Manage Permissions dialog, select the user or group to remove the permission.
  2. Click Remove in the Actions column of the each permissions. Remove user or group shared permission

Delete category

You can delete a category from the Report Server by following these steps:

  1. Click Actions in the category list context menu.
  2. Select Delete to delete the category. Delete created category

    Category cannot be deleted when it has reports grouped in it.